Purchase: Dead Space 3 (PS3)


Dead Space 3

Today marked the release of Dead Space 3. I was going to wait for a price drop, but being a fan of the series made this intolerable. After selling a bunch of movies from my dvd collection, I had enough money to make my purchase.

I’m roughly 4 or 5 hours in and the game…isn’t really like the other Dead Space games. There’s something off about it. I’m playing through on hard mode, and there is a lack of health and ammo, which is good, but the combat is different. It feels like the monsters come at you differently. Maybe they’re faster? More lethal? I find it hard to move out of their way sometimes. The controls are not quite the same. It’s a lot of minor tweaks to everything. I’m not sure what to make of it yet. Sure, there are some tense moments, but the only real horror I ever face is the monsters that regenerate.

Power nodes are gone. Instead, we can find new parts and create custom weapons and add damage mods to them, or reload speed increases, etc. This is a cool feature and I like it. This is good and bad at the same time though. Good, in that it allows you to be more creative, and combine weapon types. It’s bad because it might create a bit of imbalance. Since weapon ammo is universal now, it doesn’t matter what weapon you have, you’ll always be picking up ammo for it. You can make an overpowered weapon and never run out of ammo specifically for it. No more moments where you’re relieved to find an ammo type.

The creatures in the game do look good, as usual, and dismembering them is still fun. You’ve got some new types, and then the same old necromorphs. Space babies have turned into space dogs though. Found that a bit weird. I’m curious to see what other monsters they’ve implemented.

I’m not sure what to make of the game yet. It’s been fun so far, but there’s something I can’t quite put my finger on yet. Something bothering me about it. I’ll let you know when I figure that out. Expect a review of this game. And yes, I know, it’s been a while since a review was posted. Maybe I’ll do a video review. Who knows?

Leave a Reply

