Recently Purchased: Far Cry 3(PC), Playstation All-Star Battle Royale, Call of Duty Black Ops 2(PS3), Gran Turismo 5 XL, Forza Horizon, and then the Steam Holiday Sale


Well, it’s not too often that I post these anymore, but I decided it was time to post an update as to which games I have been buying.

We’ll start by saying that Playstation All-Star Battle Royale is actually a fun game. It’s easy to get the hang of, and the characters all seem unique enough to warrant trying them all. I’ve finished Arcade Mode with Raiden, and tried with Kratos. I say try because I got to a level that featured Raiden as an opponent, and could not beat him. My first play through was on normal difficulty, and it was easy, so the increase to hard was necessary. Raiden is a cheap bastard, and I can’t seem to get a higher score than him. Anyway, the game was on sale at EB Games for $30, so I picked it up.

Far Cry 3 is an awesome, open-world game, with one awesome bad guy in it. My play-through is already done, and the story was meh. Not bad, or particularly good. It had potential, but it’s really just there to hold the rest of the game and setting together. The sandbox aspect of it is great. Running around, hunting, ambushing pirates and doing some of the challenges, is all fun. Totally worth picking up. The PC version already has some mods available too, so I suggest getting that version.

Call of Duty Black Ops 2 is actually not horrible. I started playing the campaign a little and it seems alright. The zombies mode has seen a bit of my time as well, and I am a fan of the new Tranzit mode, where you ride around on a bus to different areas. Too bad there’s no sort of story mode for that. It’s be cool to coop that, instead of just trying to survive for as long as you can. I picked it up when during it’s release week, for PS3.

I haven’t even opened Gran Turismo 5 XL Edition, but it was only $10. I figured, why not?

Also picked up for $10 each were Resistance: Burning Skies and Hot Shots Golf: World Invitation for PS Vita. I haven’t played either of them yet, except for the demo for Resistance.

Forza Horizon was free! I loved the demo for it, and having nice cars to drive around in an open world is great. Maybe there should be some more time set aside for this game. Hrmmm.

The Steam Holiday Sale was insane. A lot of these games will be shown in my ‘First Fifteen” series, so keep an eye out for those videos. The games I picked up are the following:
Dark Souls: Prepare to Die Edition $19.99
Endless Space Emperor Edition $11.89
Capsized $3.39
Thief Gold $2.49
Theif 2 $2.49
Miasmata $7.49
Inside A Star Filled Sky $1.99
Noitu Love 2 Devolution $1.99
Trauma $1.74
Closure $2.49
Resonance $2.49
Hack, Slash, Loot $2.79

Yes, I did already own Dark Souls on PS3, but I felt compelled to get it on PC to see the difference. It looks nicer, and handles the same otherwise. I’m looking forward to seeing the different content.

Otherwise, most of the other games will be covered in video form soon. I’m contemplating doing Miasmata first. Or Hack, Slash Loot. Depends on whether Fraps likes the games or not. Sometimes, it just hates life.

That is all I can think of off the top of my head.

Update: Forgot to mention that I picked up Silent Hill: Shattered Memories for the Wii, and Binary Domain and Yakuza: Dead Souls for PS3. All games were less than $15. I haven’t tried Silent Hill yet, but Binary Domain and Yakuza: Dead Souls were both worth the price. Not the best games, but if you see them cheap, get ’em.

Leave a Reply

