Recent PSN Purchases: Infamous: Festival of Blood, Pixel Junk Sidescroller, God Hand, Odin Sphere and Ring of Red


I’ve been meaning to purchase a few games on PSN, namely the PS2 classics I have listed here. The other ones just seemed…necessary.

Infamous: Festival of Blood is a stand-alone expansion for Infamous 2. It sees our hero, Cole, turned into a vampire and he has until day break to kill the vampire that cursed him or face losing his free will to a vampire queen. I haven’t played it yet, but it was only $7.99. We’ll see if it was worth it soon.

Pixel Junk Sidescroller looks like Pixel Junk Shooter, but with some differences. I wasn’t sure if I was going to buy it, just based on the trailer, but I figured why not. It was only $9.99, and again, I haven’t tried it out yet, so we’ll see if it was worth it sometime soon.

God Hand was a PS2 game that I never played, but I’ve heard some interesting things about it. All of the PS2 classics are $9.99 so it wasn’t a huge gamble. We’ll see what it’s like when I finally try it out.

Odin Sphere is a rare PS2 game, and it’s an interesting one at that. It’s a side-scrolling RPG, with some very clever level designs and spectacular art work. I own this game for my PS2, but I think it might see more play from me on my PS3, since it’s more convenient.

Last, but not least, Ring of Red was the final purchase of the week on PSN. This game was one of my favourites on PS2 back in the day. It features tactical combat, giving you a mech and a couple of squads of infantry to fight with. Each mech has different tactics. There are short range, long range and close combat mechs in this game. The infantry provides support by using a mix of different combat skills and weaponry. It’s been a while since I last played, but I believe there are cool-down times between attacks. There is a degree of customization as well, allowing you to use different ammo types, and skills. It’s a great game and if it sounds at all interesting, definitely worth a download.

Update: The following are my initial impressions of the games above.

I’ll start with God Hand, and I’ll say that it is fun and interesting. It’s a beat ’em up, and you beat up punks in the street and sometimes demons (or whatever they are). I only played the game for about 20 minutes, but it’s a cool game and you can kick guys in the nuts. It’s a tough game though, but I’ll play it a bit more soon.

Ring of Red is just like it was back in the day. Good ol’ stategy mech fighting fun.

Infamous: Festival of Blood turned out excellent, and fighting vampires is a good time. Also, draining innocent people of blood is fun too. You can also turn into a swarm of bats and fly for a short time, but it used up your blood gauge (which means you must feed!). I’ll be playing through this completely in the coming days towards Halloween.

Pixel Junk SideScroller is sort of like Shooter, and has some of the same sounds and mechanics, but it’s not Shooter. It’s something more difficult and arcade like. The power ups allow you to shoot in all directions, there are shields, and you have three different weapon types right off the bat. It’s easy to control, and challenging, and I like it. I only played through one level, so things could change, but we’ll have to wait and see.

2 Responses to “Recent PSN Purchases: Infamous: Festival of Blood, Pixel Junk Sidescroller, God Hand, Odin Sphere and Ring of Red”

  1. I also bought God Hand (again, as I have it for PS2). It is very, very ugly up on an HD screen, but play it anyway because it is the best 3D beat’em up ever made. Also it is insanely hard. If on your first time playing it you manage to kill more than 10 guys before dying, you will have accomplished a very great feat.

  2. It doesn’t look THAT bad on the HDTV.

    And yes, it’s difficult.

Leave a Reply

