Recent Purchases: Battlefield 3 (PC+PS3), House of the Dead Overkill Extended Cut (PS3), and Assassin’s Creed 2 (PS3)


It’s likely no surprise that I picked up Battlefield 3, but I decided to get 2 copies and make a comparison. That and I’ll be able to play with more people.

BF3
So far, the difference between them is the graphics. The single-player campaign is all that I’ve touched on the PS3 so far, and it’s alright. On the PC, it’s the same thing. No difference, just graphical enhancements (running it on Ultra) and a mouse and keyboard (better).

The multi-player is where the game was meant to shine and it does. I’ve been enjoying the conquest mode, as it is what I enjoyed playing in Battlefield 2 (not Bad Company 2). It brings me back to the good old days, only it has a huge graphical make-over, which is obvious. The maps are huge, and the games can have up to 64 players, which is big enough for me. The only problem is that people camp the helicopter and jet spawns, and I can never get one in time. I’d really like to practice and increase my skill with them again.

There have been a few issues with lag, but at least I’ve only been disconnected once so far out of 11 matches. Better than the beta, where I never finished a game before it crashed or booted me out. There are no real glitches with the game that I have noticed yet either.

I’ll be playing it on PC more than PS3, but I have the option of playing with friends on PSN at least.

HotD Overkill Ext
House of the Dead Overkill Extended Cut was released for $39.99 and I loved the original on the Wii, so I picked it up. It still hasn’t been played, but I’ll get around to it.

Assassin's Creed 2
Since Assassin’s Creed Revelation is coming soon, I decided to pick up Assassin’s Creed 2. It’s about time to play through the series completely, so I need to finish 1, 2 and Brotherhood before starting Revelation. This might not ever happen, but it could.

Leave a Reply

