Purchases for Thursday, June 9, 2011


I took some of the stuff I could sell down to a local store and did some trades. It would have been worth more if I had sold it myself, but it was just extras and I needed to make room in my apartment. I was able to trade it in towards the following games:


Knights of the Old Republic for Xbox. My experience with this game was limited to the PC back a long time ago, and it was for a very short time. It was a game I really liked, and it’s nice to have finally found a copy. The game is in really good shape. The only undesirable thing about it is that it’s the “Not For Resale” copy.


Jackal for the NES is a game I didn’t play until my friend Laynix picked it up. I recalled it being a good game. It’s a military shooter where you drive around in a jeep with guns attached to it. You kill enemies, blow up buildings, and save your friends by picking them up in your jeep. It’s pretty solid. This copy doesn’t seem to work 100%, so I’ll likely have to do some extensive cleaning on it.


1080 Snowboarding was one of my favourite games when I was growing up. It consumed many hours of my life. Space

Station Silicon Valley, on the other hand, was a game I had never played before. The word on the street was it’s a strange game, so I decided to pick it up.


Mortal Kombat was another favourite of mine while growing up. I saw it on the shelf for Sega CD and had to get it. It doesn’t work properly though due to scratches, so I need to get it resurfaced.


Soviet Strike, Tomb Raider, and Skeleton Warrior for the Sega Saturn are all games that I never played before yesterday.

Soviet Strike was as predicted, a lot like Nuclear Strike (which I did play). You are an attack helicopter that goes in the blows shit up, and rescues people.

Tomb Raider is a game I had only ever experienced in demo format (on the PSX). It’s an action game with puzzle elements, much like a lot of games out today (ex. Uncharted).

Skeleton Warriors was the big surprise out of these 3 games. It’s a fantasy side-scroller. You use a sword, shield and magic to kill enemies. The graphics are actually really impressive for a game made in 1996. If you have a Sega Saturn, consider this game.


I also met up with a man from Kijiji and purchased Werewolf, Rad Racer and Xevious for the NES.

Werewolf is a cheesy side-scrolling platformer that is actually not that good of a game. It’s cool that you can turn into a werewolf though. This kind of makes me want to pick up Bloody Roar for the PSX…

Rad Racer is a racing game with checkpoints. It’s seizure inducing fun! It also has the ability to be played in 3D! I need those 3D glasses.

I already owned Xevious, but my other copy never worked. This one, however, does work very well. If you’ve never played it, it plays like Raiden.


As well as I found another person on Kijiji with Resident Evil 2 on PSX for $10. This is one of my favourite games for the PSX, and I am glad to have it back in my collection. There are some minor scratched on the discs, and a crack on the front of the case, but it’s definitely worth the price.

I’d say this was a pretty good haul. Now…I really need to stop buying games….until Tuesday….When Duke Nukem Forever and Alice: Madness Returns come out. Damn it!

Leave a Reply

