Purchases for January 5th and 6th, 2011: Microbots (PSN), Tetris (PSN), and Reloaded (PS Classics)


Last night and this afternoon I browsed the PSN store in search of some more games to try out.

I downloaded Tetris, because…well…it’s fucking Tetris. It seems that EA had the idea to give Tetris a fresh new look and some new play modes. Good enough for me. I played a little bit, but ended up passing out after one game. Not much to give you for an initial impression…other than it’s Tetris.

I also downloaded the demos for Microbot and Rocochet HD. I decided that Microbot was worth the purchase. Ricochet HD is alright, but I’ll put that on the back burner for now. Mircrobot is a game where you take control of a microscopic machine and are injected into a human being. Your job is to fight off bacteria and invading evil microbots. I’ve played it a little bit, and so far it’s alright. I like the upgrade system and the idea of the game. I do find a few things annoying about it though. For example, when I am trying to fight a whole bunch of enemies, and all the sudden I am swooped away by the blood stream and killed randomly. The auto-save system is also annoying sometimes, considering that if you back track, the checkpoints don’t save as you pass them going the other direction. If you die, you get sent all the way back to the furthest point that you got to. Minor gripes, I suppose, bu we’ll see what else happens as I play more.

Reloaded is a PS Classic, and I never had a chance to play it back in the day. Thought I’d give it a whirl. It’s not all that amazing. It’s definitely dated. Oh well.

Both Microbot and Tetris were $9.99. Reloaded was $5.99.

Also worth mentioning is that I pre-ordered Mortal Kombat Tournament Edition for the PS3. I hope they don’t fuck this up.

Leave a Reply

