Purchases for Saturday, October 23, 2010: Super Meat Boy (XBLA) and The Dishwasher: Dead Samarai (XBLA)


Today, I played a bit of Vanquish and when I was done, I looked over at my 360 and asked myself if there was anything I should be checking out on XBox Live Arcade. I knew Super Meat Boy was there, so I logged on and took a loom through some games and downloaded a few trials.

Super Meat Boy is fucking fantastic! It can be a bit difficult, but each level is pretty short. Those players out there with A.D.D. will have no problems playing for a minute (or even a few seconds) and then putting the controller down and still feeling satisfied. If you haven’t checked it out, download the trial and play it. There’s nothing like navigating a chunk of meat through an obstacle course to save it’s girlfriend from a fetus.

While I was browsing, I came across “The Dishwasher: Dead Samarai” and I recalled hearing about this game before. I decided to download the trial and give it a chance. It’s a pretty decent side scrolling hack and slash. If you enjoy Shank or Castle Crashers. or any old school beat ’em ups, then maybe give this a try.

I purchased both of these games. I expect that Super Meat Boy will be getting most of the attention.

I also downloaded the trial for Comic Jumper, but I haven’t tried it yet.

Update Saturday, October 23, 2010 @ 6:30 pm: I almost forgot that last night I was watching through a few episodes of Zero Punctuation and I watched the PainKiller video. After watching it, it came to mind that I had been meaning to get it forever, and never did. I went on Steam and got a copy for $9.99. I haven’t played a game like this in years (not since the first Serious Sam game came out). It’s a nice change of pace from all of the other first-person shooters I’ve been playing.

Leave a Reply

