Today’s Purchases: Castlevania: Lords of Shadow, Enslaved: Odyssey to the West, Heavenly Sword, and UFC Undisputed 2010 (PS3)


Today, as the title says, I picked up a few games. I had the collector’s edition of Castlevania on pre-order, and when I went to pick it up, I noticed Heavenly Sword for $18. I also wanted to get Enslaved today as well, and so I did. Also, there was an ad on Kijiji for UFC 2010 for sale for $25, so I went and picked that up. Pretty good haul for one day.

I haven’t had a chance to play Castlevania or UFC 2010, but I did pop Heavenly Sword in for a little bit, and then moved on to Enslaved. I invested about 3 hours into Enslaved, and it seemed like 15 minutes. I swear.

Heavenly Sword: Well, this is an older title from a few years back. I’ve been meaning to pick it up for a while now, but it never seemed to go down in price. It was pleasing to see it used for $18. As far as games go currently, in comparison, this game is a bit dated, but I expected that somewhat. It’s still a very enjoyable game, however, with some nice combat that reminds me quite a bit of God of War. I played through the first act of the game, and was satisfied with my purchase. I’ll be finishing this game up gradually, along side the other titles I picked up today.

Enslaved: Odyssey to the West: If you enjoyed Uncharted, then you’ll enjoy this game. The combat is a bit more simple than Uncharted, but otherwise, it’s identical as far as gameplay is concerned. Story wise, however, it’s a sci-fi tale based in a post apocalyptic world. You break out of a slave ship, and escape in (on) an escape pod as the ship crashes. Monkey (you), and Trip (the person you have to protect) are the characters in the game. When the escape pod crashes, Trip attaches a slave head band to Monkey and programs it so that if she dies, he dies, or if he gets too far away from her, he dies. This forces him to help her get home, and then the journey begins. Time to traverse the ruins of New York City.

I have played through the first 4 chapters so far, and am at the beginning of chapter 5. I’ve logged around 3 hours of play time, and it seemed much shorter. The game is quite a lot of fun, and I am looking forward to the rest of the story. I’ll post more on this as I make my way through the game.

Leave a Reply

