My PC Died. Time For Some New Hardware.


Alright, so I have been using my laptop the last few days. It’s a piece of shit, but it is good enough to browse the internet. The PC I was using just decided to die on me. I have a suspicion that it was my motherboard or my CPU, due to overclocking and extended hours of use.

I did the only thing I could to figure out what the problem was, and that was to take out each component, one at a time, and test it in my other PC (which I am now using). I did this all morning, and even took out the power supply and used another to see if it would boot the broken PC. Nope. Nothing. The video card, RAM, sound card, modem, and power supply all seem to be fine. Only two things left are my motherboard and CPU. Naturally, I looked at this as an opportunity to buy new shit.

Today, I did some quick research and found a suitable replacement for my old shit. I decided to go with the following: Gigabyte X58A-UD3R motherboard, Intel Core i7 920 Quad Core Processor,Corsair XMS3 TR3X6G1600C8 (3x2GB DDR3-1600) 8-8-8-24. This should be suitable enough for my needs. I am speculating getting a better power supply as well. Possibly something around 800W. We’ll see how this works on my 650W first.

I am very excited to get this new hardware setup and ready to rock. I should definitely see a huge boost in performance. I don’t think I’ll be overclocking this stuff anytime soon though. Just to be safe.

I should have this all by next week sometime. Expect a post once I receive it and have it set up.

Leave a Reply

