Purchases For Wednesday, January 6, 2009 (Bayonetta and Darksiders)


Today I picked up Bayonetta and Darksiders for the Playstation 3 before going to work. They both came out yesterday.


Bayonetta is quite spectacular. It’s filled with fast game play and maneuvers that make you say “That was awesome!”. You carry around 4 guns (1 with each hand and 1 with each foot), which really only makes the game more awesome. The controls are fairly responsive. Pulling off combos is fairly easy, considering there are tons of different moves. Button mashers and people that like to actually be a bit more technical will both be pleased. As far as story is concerned, I’ll keep it short. You’re a witch, and were found at the bottom of a lake. You have no memory of your past, and I am assuming that as you play the game, you recover your lost memory. We’ll have to see where this all goes.


“In Darksiders, Heaven and Hell are at odds and war with one another constantly. To preserve the balance; a mediator group, The Charred Council, sends their chosen warriors, The Four Horsemen, to kill Heaven and Hell’s hordes until a truce is formed between the two rivaling kingdoms. Eons after the truce, a third kingdom is formed, The Kingdom of Man. The Charred Council foresees that man will be a major factor in the role of Heaven and Hell. As such, a final war between Man, Heaven and Hell would be decided during a specific time: once the Seven Sacred Seals have been broken”(Wiki) (Yes, I was lazy). You play as War (one of the four horsemen of the apocalypse), and you find yourself in the middle of the end war between heaven and hell on Earth. You look around and discover that the three other horsemen are not with you. Your powers get taken away, as it appears that you have triggered the apocalypse prematurely. War bargains with the Charred Council and is allowed back to Earth to find who is responsible for this mess.

The game plays like a platformer. You go around beating up demons and angels and whatever else gets in your way. The game play is fairly simple and controls are easy to pick up. The game looks pretty good. Not a lot of combos or anything so far, but there are special moves you can perform that require energy. There is some blood and gore throughout the game, as would be expected. There’s climbing, and jumping. What else can I really say? It’s pretty fun, but I need to play it more to come to a better conclusion. I’ve only completed the first little bit of the game (I am currently at The Crossroads). As of right now, I’d say try it before you buy it.

I’ll hopefully be playing a bit more now. There are quite a few games coming out in the next month or two. Looking forward to Mass Effect 2, Dante’s Inferno and Aliens vs. Predator 3. Damn it, I still need a new laptop too. I need more money! Gah!

Jan. 7, 2010 – Update: Okay, after playing more Darksiders, I am definitely enjoying it a lot. It’s reminding me more and more of God of War. I am playing through on Apocalyptic difficulty, and I find it challenging, but it’s still quite fun. You can buy upgrades for your weapon and new moves, as well as new weapons. Now that I think about it, it’s like mixing God of War and Prototype together with the Apocalypse. Yeah, that sounds about right.

Jan. 13, 2010 – Update: Darksiders is definitely reminding me of Zelda now too. I’m about 6 hours in now, and I’m lovin’ it. If you’ve read any of the reviews, or Penny Arcade, they too are finding a lot of different game elements in this game. Oddly enough, it all fits together really well. I’ll likely play this until I finish it, and then move on to Bayonetta.

2 Responses to “Purchases For Wednesday, January 6, 2009 (Bayonetta and Darksiders)”

  1. The Darksiders case looks sweet.

  2. Yeah, you should definitely get it. It’s very good, and you could likely platinum it.

Leave a Reply

