News For June 16, 2009


Well, I decided that I wanted to see what was going on in the gaming world today. I read a few headlines and picked out what interested me for this news post today. Let’s take a look, shall we.

To my surprise (and likely a lot of other people), Red Faction: Guerrilla’s price (on the 360 version) has dropped considerably fast. It’s been out for less than 2 weeks. What the hell? The 360 version must not be as successful as the PS3 version? Weird.

In the future, video games are being projected to look on par with the latest CGI. UbiSoft’s chairman and CEO Yves Guillemot estimates that budgets for such games in the future may average as high as $60,000,000.00! That’s a lot of dough for a game. That is insane. I wonder how Microsoft, Sony, and Nintendo will react. Will the next generation of consoles take a much shorter leap than the last one? I am guessing that is likely. Games look beautiful enough now anyway. I wouldn’t mind if they even delayed bringing out any new consoles.

If you enjoyed Final Fantasty VIII or hold it as the weakest link in the series (on the Playstation One), then maybe give this a read, and see whether or not you agree. Maybe it’ll inspire you to revisit the game. I really enjoyed Final Fantasy VIII. To me, X was the weakest in the entire series. Why they even made X-2 is beyond me (I haven’t played it, or owned it). For the Playstation One, I don’t know which I like least, but I do know that Final Fantasy VII was and still is my favourite.

Here is Kotaku’s review of Prototype. I agree with it for the most part. I want to get Hulk: Ultimate Destruction now.

I am likely going to pick up a copy of Ghostbusters: The Video Game sometime soon. I think I will enjoy it. It has a few mixed reviews, but they are still not saying that it is horrible. Ghostbusters was one of my favourite movies when I was growing up, as well as I watched the cartoons like a religion. This game will satiate my hunger for some ghost bustin’. Also, I noticed on imdb that there’s a movie slated for release in 2012.

Seriously, this is absolute bullshit. I recall hearing about this kid back when it first happened and I was angered by it then. Now that defense attorneys are blaming this kid’s fucking gaming obsession with Halo 3 for him killing his mother and attempting to kill his father. Yeah, a 16-year-old boy shoots his parents in the head, with a real 9mm pistol, and doesn’t think it will kill them because he plays Halo 3 so much that he thinks that they will just respawn? That is not exactly what they said, I am sure, but PLEASE! FUCK THOSE FUCKING ASSHOLE LAWYERS! And the judge bought that! Just because you are trying to save the kid’s ass, don’t drag down my past time with it. Fuck you lawyers and fuck you judge for buying that garbage and letting that kid off easy.

Moving on to something better for my blood pressure, Scribblenaughts is going to be AWESOME! This is crazy, and I cannot wait for this to come out.

Well, this really didn’t surprise me, but the Cry Engine 3 will be on par with Cry Engine 2 running at “medium” settings. Cry Engine 3 is what the consoles will use to support Crysis 2 when it comes out. It is good that they are making a different engine and hopefully it’ll look impressive still and run very smoothly. The Cry Engine 2 was something that choked PC gamers for a long time, with it’s high demands on gaming PC hardware. We’ll see how this turns out when the game is released.

The PSP Go will have games that can be used in closed mode. That is cool. *shrugs* That still isn’t a second analog stick. That would have just made sense.

Lost Planet was a game a picked up for the 360 back when it originally came out. It was pretty fun, but I never finished the game. I don’t know why, but I just got bored of it I guess. The sequel may prove to be a lot more fun. I wish it was fucking split screen. Damn my solitude and dial-up internet connection!

That is the news I’ve been reading today. Enjoy it, and remember that there are no respawns in RL you stupid fucks.

4 Responses to “News For June 16, 2009”

  1. I’m calling Scribblenauts game of the year. Hopefully good ol’ Japan will have it when I get there.

  2. That is likely a safe bet.

  3. The only thing I’m skeptical about is just how many words that will actually make a difference. If I wrote spachela can I cook something?

  4. Well, they had 2 guys reading for 6 months collecting words from various different sources. That was their sole job. I am sure that the number of words is insane.

Leave a Reply

