inFamous Finished With Good Karma, And Red Faction: Guerrilla Purchased.


As the title of the post says, I have completed inFamous with good Karma and purchased Red Faction: Guerrilla. Let’s talk about how awesome inFamous is first and I will get to Red Faction later in the post.

inFamous

inFamous is a very fun game. I am sure you have heard this already from all of the reviews out there, but I would just like to reassure you. Electricity is a joy to play with! Anyway, I am going to do a small review of the game and tell you what I think is important.

Graphics: The graphics are excellent. There is some minor clipping (this only happened to me a couple of times where I fell through and got stuck in a building), and slight pop-up in the distance, but otherwise there are no complaints. The light effects are beautiful, character models are well done and detailed, and movement is fluid for the most part. *thumbs up*

Sound: The sound was great. Everything from the electricity leaping from your hand and hitting a foe, to the many sounds of the city and distant gun shots all sounded wonderful. I really don’t have any complaints.

Controls: The game’s control scheme worked very well. Once you learn the controls (which are introduced to you as you get new powers in the game), you likely won’t have any issues with them. Jumping to other platforms or climbing buildings is really never a problem. The game guides your character to grab or land on the closest ledge or platform. This relieves some of the frustration that could have been had from missing jumps and collecting items. There’s very little learning curve.

Innovation: The game brings a few new things to the table, but not a lot. It’s more a combination of a few different games. I’ll put it in math terms: GTA + Assassin’s Creed + Super Powers. You run around a city that feels alive and is crowded with people like in GTA4, you do missions that can be repetitive at times and climb up buildings all the time like in Assassin’s Creed, and you shoot lighting out of your hands. How can that not be fun? Even the repetitive missions don’t really get boring when you are running around frying bad guys with electricity.

Story: The story line for the game was unique and well done. For the sake of saving spoilers, I won’t go into detail. All I can say is that if you follow the story line, you likely won’t be disappointed. You probably won’t expect the ending.

Trophies: I have obtained quite a few of them so far. There are a lot of them, but most are fairly easy to get. You will gather most of them from just playing through the game, but you need to play through at least twice (once good and once evil). This should give you the time necessary to collect everything and earn the trophies.

Difficulty: The game was not hard to play through on normal. I never felt the need to throw the controller in frustration. I have started the game over on Hard now, and will be evil my second time through. After doing a couple of missions, it doesn’t seem much harder.

With all of that said, the game is addictive. You will lose a lot of time just running around collecting blast shards and dead drops. Completing all of the side missions is easy, as long as you have time to do them all. Really, all this game requires is time. I recommend following the story line and collecting all of the dead drops, at least. It’s a good story, in my opinion, and I don’t think many will disagree. This is a must buy for anyone who owns a Playstation 3.

Red Faction: Guerrilla

As mentioned, I purchased Red Faction: Guerrilla.


I had this game pre-ordered and I picked it up on the day of release. Laynix also picked it up, as we were both driving to a concert that day.

I have only played the game for an hour or so, since I wanted to finish inFamous before committing time to it. I am playing through on hard difficulty, and it’s not too bad so far. Destruction is fun, and that is all I will say for now.

Leave a Reply

