What I’ve been up to


So it’s been nearly a week since I posted something, which I think is the longest amount of time between my posts so far.

The main reason for this is due to some corrupt data causing my WinXP install to not boot, and, a reinstall failed.
I’ve been meaning to better organize all of the data I have spanning across many hard drives, but I haven’t been keeping up, so I had a lot of it stored on my main drive. I backed that up and played some UFC 2009 Undisputed and Gran Turismo 5 Prologue.

I was talking to one of my friends, and he has been using the beta for Windows 7 and likes it, so I thought about giving it a try. I decided I may as well, since I have to install something, and so far it has been great. The install was very fast, and had every driver except for an 8 year old SoundBlaster Audigy. I haven’t ran into any big issues except for a lag issue with Vent which I was able to clear up, and a problem that screws up the sound output, but that could be the Audigy drivers, and since it’s a beta OS. It is definitely better than I expected. It hasn’t crashed, it’s quick, and it looks really nice. I guess it looks pretty similar to Vista, but still nice. It took me a little while to figure out how to share folders, but it’s just because they have given the user a lot more control over file sharing, so, that’s good. So far I’ve only played Eve Online and TF2 since installing, but neither have had any problems. I’ll post more about Windows 7 when I’ve spent more time with it.

Another change to my PC has been my memory. Last week one day there was a great sale on memory at NCIX. I picked up 4 1 gig sticks of crucial DDR2-1066 for $10/stick. I couldn’t resist the surprise 1 day sale on this stuff. It came in today and is nice and fast.

Leave a Reply

