I Had No Choice. There Were Games To Be Purchased!


Laynix, my girlfriend and I did a trip to Waterloo today to pick up UFC 2009 Undisputed for PS3 since we pre-ordered it. We dropped by both the Conestoga and Sports World EB stores. Since we were going to be in the area, we dropped by Little Shop of Heroes in Listowel on the way down and went to a Microplay store in Kitchener (Near the intersection of Ottawa and Fischer-Hallman). We both found quite a few deals and bought a lot more than we had anticipated. We have concluded that we have a serious addiction to buying games.

On our way to Kitchener/Waterloo, we stopped in Listowel to visit Little Shop of Heroes. Every time I go here the selection is a bit different and there always seems to be something I want. This time was no exception.


I picked up Skies of Arcadia Legends for the Game Cube. The case shows a bit of wear, the manual has folding near the edges and the game has been resurfaced. I don’t care too much, considering it was a good price. It is a RPG and you get to be a sky pirate. It is awesome. I played it for hardly any time at all and I feel like I need to play it more. I will hopefully fulfill this hunger.

I also picked up three Playstation 2 titles at Little Shop of Heroes.


I picked up Gran Turismo 3 A-Spec. It’s in the Metacritic Top 20 PS2 games, and I don’t really have any racing games for my Playstation 2, other than Burnout: Take Down. I decided to pick it up since it was in very close to mint condition and a good price.

Jak and Daxter and Jak II are platformer titles I meant to get a long time ago, but never got a chance to. I saw them and decided that it was time. They are fun and worth having. They are in mint condition.

We stopped at the EB Games by Sports World next. Laynix picked up his copy of UFC 2009 Undisputed here. I picked up one game here.


Etrian Odyssey II: Heroes of Lagaard which is an RPG made by Atlus. I bought it due to Laynix’s recommendation and it being an Atlus game. I don’t know when I will ever get a chance to play this. This was the last new copy they had.

After we were done at EB, I drove through Kitchener to my girlfriend’s place and we stopped at MicroPlay on the way through. Laynix and I walked in and started looking. We saw some games, and thought they didn’t have a good selection. As we moved further into the store, we found that that was definitely called too soon. They had the most used Playstation 2 games I have ever seen in one store. They had a lot of other games as well, and even some older console games like Super NES and Playsation One games. Good selection there, but the people working there aren’t all that friendly. I am sure Laynix will talk more about that.


I picked up Elite Beat Agents for the Nintendo DS here for a decent price. It’s in the Metacritic Top 20 DS games. I haven’t tried it yet, but it’s a rhythm based game where you have to tap the touch screen. Laynix tried it while I was driving, and he said it was okay. Case, manual and game are like new.


Ratchet and Clank Size Matters for PSP is a platformer I’ve been meaning to get. The UMD casing on this copy is really scratched up, but the disc is fine. I don’t know how people scratch this stuff up so much. It almost seems like they were trying to.

WipEout Pure for the PSP is a game I really wanted to get. I’ve been trying to find a copy for a while, for a good price. It’s one of the Top 20 games, and it’s WipEout. I love the series. The original was one of the first games for the Playsation One that I was addicted to. I am happy to now have the option to play this anywhere. Case and game show slight wear, manual is in good shape.


Shadow of Rome for the Playstation 2 is a game I have been looking for since Laynix told me about it. It is everything I expected it to be. Bloody and awesome. The case and manual are in good shape, but the disc for this game has some scratches on it that almost stopped me from buying it. I am glad I did buy it though, because it works just fine.

Psi-Ops was sitting there too. It’s another game I’ve been looking for since Laynix pointed it out to me. It is a 3rd-person action/shooter and looks really good for a Playstation 2 game. It’s also a pretty fun game. The case, manual and game all have slight wear, but nothing too bad.


Summoner is one of the early release titles for the Playstation 2. It’s got some wear on the case/insert, but otherwise isn’t too bad. Worth the very inexpensive price.

Summoner 2 is, agreeing with Laynix on this, better than the first Summoner. The gameplay and action are much faster and smoother. The game and manual are in good shape, but I noticed a crack in the case after I got home. I didn’t notice at the store. I am annoyed.


Dark Cloud is a really good action RPG. I used to own this game, but I was stupid and sold it a long time ago. I am happy to re-introduce this title to my collection.

Wild Arms 3 is a game I never played, and I just bought it because it is part of a pretty popular ongoing series of RPGs. The game is in okay condition, manual has a tiny rip in the bottom. It was a used game, but they had re-sealed it for the display. On top of not being able to see the manual while I was browsing the games, I was annoyed to find that one of the clips holding the manual in was broken off and missing. I really don’t like buying damaged products and I should have asked to see the inside of the case when I was at the counter. I figured that re-sealed games were in good condition. We all know what happens when you assume. *sigh*


Since Tekken Tag Tournament, I haven’t purchased any other Tekken games. I figured it was about time, so I decided to buy up Tekken 5 for the Playsation 2. The game is in good shape. I don’t feel obligated to explain the game. It’s Tekken.


Axelay for the SNES is a jet fighter shoot ’em up style game. I have it for the virtual console on my Wii, but decided that I like having the actual game. The cart and game label are in good shape, and the pins still need more cleaning. It works though.


Ultima is a RPG for the NES. It’s in pretty good shape. Pins are a bit dirty, but otherwise it’s all good. It works fine. I am sure most people, if not all, know about the Ultima series so I am not going to worry too much about explaining it.


Finally, I finished the trip off by dropping by the EB Games in the Conestoga Mall and picked up my pre-ordered copy of UFC 2009 Undisputed for the Playstation 3. A bit more on this game later in my post.

Not a bad haul for one trip to Kitchener/Waterloo. I spent way too much money, and I am happy(well, unhappy) to say that I will definitely not be buying anymore games for a while. I can’t spend anymore money. I don’t actually have the budget for it now. Severe withdrawal symptoms are surely to set in any day, but we will see how it goes. I still have games coming in from E-Bay and all of those pre-orders at EB Games to pick up when they are released(inFamous, Red Faction: Guerrilla, and Prototype). Hopefully that will simulate the feeling of buying games for the next while, until I have money saved up. I am Matt and I have a video game shopping addiction.

My Experience With UFC 2009 Undisputed So Far
Moving on to actually playing games, I got a chance to play UFC 2009 Undisputed, and it is everything I had hoped for. I created a fighter and started the career mode.

The fighter creation is pretty good. I was able to make a character that resembles me quite accurately (well, other than he has abs and is 30 pounds lighter). I picked Kick Boxing and Brazilian Ju-Jitsu for my striking and ground fighting styles, which is pretty close to what I trained in when I actually did MMA training a few years ago. There are a lot of different options to choose from, and I don’t feel like going over all of them. All I can say is that I am satisfied with the create a fighter feature.

The career mode is excellent. You begin in an opening fight with another new comer and build your career from there. It’s up to you to handle and coordinate sponsors, training, sparring, booking events and resting up. Each week on your calendar you choose what you want to work on (you only do one thing each week, not daily). Train strength, speed, or cardio, spar to boost your skills, do a promotional event or a training camp, rest, or fight. Choose when to train and rest wisely, according to your next fight or training camp. You need to keep your fighter well rested, or else he may gas out during the event.

I am currently 4-0-0 (w-l-d) with my fighter. The matches haven’t been too difficult yet, but I am sure that will change. Playing the demo likely helped me out quite a bit though. I find the game addictive and will likely be playing this a lot. Very happy with my purchase. I advise anyone looking for a fun fighting game, UFC fan or not, to pick this game up.

Leave a Reply

