Game update, May 19, 2009


As Matt said, we bought some games. This is what I bought today, and I’ve added pictures on May 27 (wow that took me a while).

From Little Shop of Heroes:


I picked up Super Mario World 2: Yoshi’s Island and Earthworm Jim for the SNES. Yoshi’s Island even came in the box and was only $10. I snatched it up before Matt noticed it was there. Muwahahaha. This is a game that I’ve been looking for for a while, and it’s one of a few games that I regret selling when I was younger.


I was wanting to get Banjo-Kazooie: Nuts & Bolts since I bought my 360 because it’s supposed to be good, and it’s made by Rare. It was less here than at EB.

Little Shop of Heroes is a store that I used to go to when I was younger to buy cards for the collectible card game Magic: The Gathering. I hadn’t been to the store in years, but when Matt mentioned they sold used games, I had to have a look. I was surprised by the amount of games they had. In particular, they have a lot of PS2, 64, and Advance games. I’ll definitely stop in on a fairly regular basis to have a look.

From EB Games on Sportsworld Drive:


I had been looking for God of War II for a while, and this one is in great shape.


UFC 2009: Undisputed was one that I pre-ordered, and this trip was mainly to pick it up. There are a lot of good looking games coming out now. It’s crazy and it will be impossible to keep up.

I like this EB location. It’s in a separate building as opposed to being in a mall, and it’s fairly big. They have a lot of used games here, but it’s still EB. Sometimes their used games are in good shape, but a lot of the time they are really bad. They just buy any game in any condition it seems.

I also pre-ordered Infamous (because EB ended up pre-ordering Prototype instead of Infamous the last time, but I was going to pre-order Prototype anyway, so that’s fine) and Red Faction Guerilla.

From Microplay on Fischer-Hallman:


I was looking around the store for a while and found Shenmue II and Deus Ex: Invisible War. Deus Ex: Invisible War was new and only $5. Shenmue II was also $5 and is in ok shape.


I also had a look at the PS2 games and found Armored Core 2, Arc the Lad: Twilight of the Spirits, and The Bouncer. They were only $10 each, and they have a buy two get 1 free PS2 game promo, so, all three for $20.


Warhammer 40,000: Squad Command was only $10.

I had never been to this Microplay, and I haven’t been to a Microplay in years. Their prices were generally better than EB prices, although some things were still the original MSRP and hadn’t been changed to reflect price cuts. The used game prices were, in most cases, better. They had a copy of Earthbound ($89) and Final Fantasy III ($59) for the SNES, which is pretty rare to see these days. I’ll buy Earthbound some day. I’ve had Final Fantasy III since it was new, and it’s one of my favorite games of all time.


I also got Project Gotham Racing 3 in the mail.

Leave a Reply

