Gaming Session For Sunday April 26, 2009


Yesterday, Laynix and I got together to play some games. I went to his place, since he has high speed, so we could play online with Resistance 2. I got there around 9:00 p.m. EST, and brought with me a bunch of stuff. I set up and we procrastinated for about an hour or so before we played.

I brought with me my Playstation 3 with Resistance 2, Killzone 2, and Resident Evil 5. I didn’t figure on playing any Resident Evil 5, and we didn’t. Killzone 2 sung to me a tiny bit as I packed, so I brought it over. We didn’t play it either. The only online game we ended up playing, out of that selection, was Resistance 2. We played a few maps, and Laynix decided he felt like something else. We took a break from Resistance 2 for quite a while and finally came back to it this morning at some point. There wasn’t many people on, so we only played two or three maps.

This was my first time playing Resistance 2 online. I rarely get to play actual human opponents, so this was a real treat for me. I played well on the non-ranked server during the first map or two, but then we decided to switch it over to ranked. I am a noob, and it definitely showed. I don’t think I came in anything better than third from the bottom during ranked (unless there weren’t enough players for that to happen). This was a learning experience for me, and I still really enjoyed the game. It was pretty fun, and I want to invest a lot more time into it.

We switched it over to playing a demo. The demo was for UFC 2009 Undisputed. To our surprise, the game is actually very good. There were only two fighters selectable, but we still managed to play through about 10-15 matches. The game handles pretty well and looks really good. There is blood splatter on the mat and everything. The controls make sense once you get the hang of it, and I’d say that we are likely both going to buy this game. It doesn’t happen too often that a fighting game grabs our attention. I am looking forward to playing this game a lot upon it’s release (yeah, okay, not until June…shut up).

After playing the demo, I had to download it on to my Playstation 3 so I could play it later at home. While we waited, Laynix hooked up his Turbo Grafx 16. Why? Because I had brought over a selection of games that he needed to try. I brought over Ninja Spirit, Fantasy Zone, Military Madness and Splatter House. He hadn’t played any of these games before, and they are now games he will be looking for. I will leave it to Laynix to post his opinion on the games himself.

UFC finished downloading and I installed it. We were thinking of what to play next, and we chose to play the Red Faction: Guerrilla demo. I know what you are thinking, and I know it’s a single player only demo. We both had the urge to play, so we sat there and laughed maniacally for half an hour or so while we destroyed everything we could see in the game. You can, literally, destroy everything. Running around with the hammer and beating the hell out of everything is quite possibly the best stress release I have had in a while. The demo gives you a huge amount of room to move around in and this is only a tiny portion of the game. The full game will have me lost on Mars before I know it. I will be happy though, as long as I have my hammer. Or Ostrich. Everyone should at least try this demo. Laynix and I are putting it down as a must buy on release day in June.

After playing the Red Faction demo, we went back to playing Resistance 2, as I said earlier. We were getting owned a bit and decided we were getting tired. It was about 4 a.m. at this point, so we were done for the night. Well…okay, not quite.

After packing up my Playstation 3, Laynix brought to my attention a couple of 360 downloads he has made. He downloaded Ikaruga and Lode Runner off of XBL Arcade and showed them to me.

Ikaruga is a game that, if you are a shoot ’em up fan of Gradius or Raiden, you’ll absolutely need to have. Seriously. It originally came out for the DreamCast long ago, but in Japan only. It then was released for the Game Cube, but it will be difficult to find a copy, and it will be expensive. If you are not a collector and want a great game to add to your XBL Arcade library, download this game. Very awesome.

Lode Runner is quite a bit different. You move your character around a map and obtain treasure while, simultaneously, avoiding monsters and obstacles to stay alive. It is a challange and is a lot of fun to play. Now I need this and Braid for my 360. Damn it, there’s no end to the games I need.

On top of these titles I just mentioned, we were on the internet browsing for upcoming releases during breaks in the night. There are way too many games coming out and I don’t know if I have the strength to save money with this tidal wave of awesome being unleashed. We’ll have to wait and see, I guess. Alpha Protocol, Red Faction, UFC 2009 Undisputed, Zombie Apocalypse, inFamous, and the list goes on. It almost brings a tear to my eye.

That was about it for the gaming session. After I arrived back home, I unpacked and set up my Playstation 3 again. I watched some WCG Ultimate Gamer. This show is silly and stupid and I can’t help but watch it. My two least favourite people on the show are now gone, so at least there is that. I also played some more UFC by myself, Guitar Hero 3, and then I came on to my PC to type out this.

My plans for today are to play the Dawn of War 2 demo and see if I like it or not. I downloaded it on my laptop at Laynix’s place. I also plan to play some God of War on PSP and maybe some Turbo Grafx games.

That reminds me, I did get around to playing an hour of SplatterHouse the other night, and I love that game. It is likely my favourite game for the Turbo Grafx and I think that a lot of people would agree with me. If you have a Turbo Grafx, get that game. It is also available on the Wii Virtual Console, I believe. I cannot wait for the release of the upcoming SplatterHouse game that is based on the first three games. It’ll be released September 29th, 2009 according to EB Games’ website. Yay.

Alright, that is all I am going to say for now. I still have not slept and it is currently 11:00 a.m. EST. I think I will go to sleep soon. Yeah…

Leave a Reply

