The Purchases That I Made In Stratford


As was mentioned in the post before this, we took a trip to Stratford because I wanted to check out the EB there. We went to Zellers as well. I purchased two games at Zellers, and eight games at EB Games. Here they are, all cleaned and tested.

We’ll do this in chronological order, and begin with the purchases I made at Zellers. I picked up Geist for the Game Cube for $5.99, and Killer 7 for the Playstation 2 for $9.99.

Geist is a game I had never really read about, and after Laynix picked it up, I decided to give it a shot. It’s actually not a bad game. I played through the first level today, and might end up playing through the game.

Killer 7 was always a game I had thought about getting, and just never got around to doing it. I saw it for cheap, and decided it was time. I played it a little bit and have come to the conclusion that this game is totally fucked up, for the lack of a better description. I only played it a little bit to test it out, but that is my first impression of the game. More on this game when I play it again.

These two games came to about $18.00, after taxes. I love cheap games.

After Zellers, we went to the EB Games and I picked up eight more games. That includes four Playstation 2 games, and four Xbox games.

For Playstation 2 I picked up Onimusha, Onimusha 2, Shinobi, and Time Splitters. All of these games are games that I had meant to buy in the past, and never did. Until now.

The Onimusha games are by Capcom and remind me of the Resident Evil games. Only they have swords, demon possessed samarai and are based in a different time period. I played them both a tiny bit, to make sure they work, and I think I will enjoy playing them through when I finally get a chance to do so.

Shinobi is a game that I had only played when at a friend’s place one time, and I had always wanted to get it. There just seemed to always be something else I wanted and I never got around to it. It’s a hack n’ slash game. An evil sorcerer has unleashed hell spawn on a city, and it’s your job to stop it. I’d say it’s similar to Ninja Gaiden Sigma in terms of gameplay, for those unfamiliar with the game.

Time Splitters was likely one of the first, if not the first, first person shooters for the Playstation 2. You jump to different times in history and fight stuff. I can’t really remember the plot, and I only played enough last night to test the game. It can have up to four players on a split screen, which is so awesome. I wish I had a multi-tap now.

For the Xbox, I picked up Jade Empire: Limited Edition, Kill Switch, Mech Assault, and Oddworld: Stranger’s Wrath. I didn’t own an original Xbox when it came out, nor did I ever plan to. I picked one up a while back from a person at work. This is essentially the beginning of my collection, as the only games I had before this were NFS Most Wanted and Tiger Woods Gold ’07.

Jade Empire is a game I never looked in to. I purchased this off of sheer impulse…and Laynix’s recommendation…and it’s developed by BioWare.

Kill Switch is a third-person shooter. You shoot, find cover, shoot more, and all that jazz. I played this a long time ago on the Playstation 2 and never got around to getting it. I wish I had found it for Playsation 2, but this one will do.

MechAssault I likely don’t even need to talk about. You have a mech, you blow shit up, it’s a pretty good game. I played the first level and enjoyed it. It was the cheapest game at $1.49. I can see why this would have been fun online.

Oddworld: Stranger’s Wrath was one of those games that had a bit of hype behind it in development. It never took off like Oddworld Inhabitants wanted it to. It’s a platform-style game where you are a bounty hunter, you have some really weird weapons (like a cross-bow that shoots chipmunks as ammunition that lures and distracts enemies), and you can either capture enemies dead or alive and collect bounty on them (worth more alive). You capture them by sucking them up with some sort of device. It’s strange. I don’t mind it so far, in the small amount that I played, but we’ll see if I ever get around to playing it again.

The total price for the eight games at EB Games came to around $40.00. The total for the trip was a tiny bit over $58.00. Not bad for ten games, and I actually spent under my budget. Yay.

I have one more lot of games coming in, likely this week, and that will be it for buying games for a while (I hope). I really need to sit down and play more games. Driving places and buying them takes time away from that.

Update: And for the record, I am now at 449* games total. This puts my totals to 38 PS2 games, 6 Xbox games, and 15 Game Cube games.

Update #2: *this number was changed from 430 to 449 because I was an idiot and forgot to count an entire drawer of PC games.

6 Responses to “The Purchases That I Made In Stratford”

  1. You would have spent a lot more if all of the other games you brought to the counter weren’t scratched to hell! That cut the total by over half. Stupid little kids!

  2. Haha, true. I likely could have picked up that copy of Greg Hasting Paintball for Nigel, and Alien Hominid as well, but oh well. I saved a bit of money. Need to pay off insurance and various car repairs.

  3. May God, do you have some sort of unlimited video game fund?

  4. Trust me, I’d be buying more if I had an unlimited gaming fund. Let’s just say it’s a hefty percentage of my income. It’s time to see if I can actually stop long enough to save money up to pay other stuff off.

  5. That was supposed to be my Onimusha!

  6. Haha. Too bad you had to look at more games, while I took my pile to the counter.

Leave a Reply

