New games for week ending April 4, 2009


I’ve bought more games, which shouldn’t be a surprise to anyone reading this blog.


First is Geist. This game was developed by n-Space and released in 2005 for the Gamecube. It’s a first person action adventure with 4 player multiplayer. I’ve played it a bit, and decided it was worth 9.99 brand new. I bought it at Zellers, and when I got to the check out I was informed that the price was actually 4.99, making this the cheapest new game I can remember buying. It’s still sealed.


I went to Scotty’s earlier in the week with Brock to see what new stock he had. We didn’t notice much other than some older PC games like Baldur’s Gate 1 and 2, Icewind Dale, about 8 Nancy Drew games, and some others. Brock hadn’t known that PC games had ever came in boxes the size of Baldur’s Gate. I browsed the PS2 games for a while, and found only a few games that I wanted. Since he prices all of his PS2 games at $18, most of the games that I wanted I decided were too pricey considering the condition of most of them. Devil May Cry on the other hand is the original release and in very good condition.


We went to Wal-mart in Hanover to check out what they had. I knew they had Rainbow Six Vegas for $18.67, so I decided now was a good time to buy it. I’ve played this on Matt’s 360 and really liked the terrorist hunt mode, mainly because the AI is good, placed in random locations every time you start a map, and the bullets do realistic amounts of damage. When I first played the game I noticed that the menus and overall graphics were really blurry. I shrugged it off at first, but then playing it again it started to bug me. I looked it up online and found that there is a problem that Ubisoft has yet to address about this games inability to upscale the 720p graphics to 1080p properly. The only way around this for now is to disable 1080i and 1080p and force the PS3 to play it in 720p. It looks fine like this and isn’t a major problem. It’s definitely worth the purchase considering the low price, and it’s a really good game. I don’t care much for the sequel though.

Leave a Reply

