Purchases And Gaming Session For March 29, 2009


Today, I met with a guy in Waterloo to buy his used PSP. It came with a carrying case, the sampler UMD, Spider-Man 2 on UMD, the AC Adapter (which can plug into the wall or your car and has the battery charger on it), a 1 GB flash card, and two games (Lumines and Me & My Katamari). It is the first gen model of the PSP. It’s got a moderately scratched screen and the UMD door doesn’t quite close all the way on one side. I really don’t care too much because I paid a fairly cheap price for what I got. I am happy with the purchase. I cleaned up the games and the PSP as best I can, and everything works fine.

After I picked that up, I picked up my girlfriend and went and had a visit with my friend, Eric. We decided to go to the mall and I decided I wanted at least one other game for my PSP. I went in to EB Games and…well…all of the games that I wanted for the PSP sat in front of me. I caved and purchased five games. The games were: Final Fantasy Tactics, Final Fantasy VII Crisis Core, Resistance: Retribution, Patapon, and Prinny: Can I Really Be the Hero?. The first three that I mentioned were used, and I got good use of my EB Games Edge card, saving me 10% on my used game purchases.


So far, I have tried out all of the games except for the Final Fantasy games. There will be more on these games as I play them. They are good from what I have played so far. I’ve had company today, so not a lot of time to dedicate to the purchases from earlier.

My friend Steph came over and we played a few games.

We started off with some Resident Evil 5 co-op in The Mercenaries mini-game. It was pretty sweet. I think there are more enemies with two people. She spent a lot of time getting used to the game. She has never played before. We played this for a few rounds and decided to move to another game.

Next up, I let her try out Flower, since it is such an unusual game. She enjoyed it. Not really much else to add here. I am sure she’ll view this post and add in her own opinion anyway.

Then we tried out Mad World multi-player. It was relatively fun. You get to play the bonus rounds that you come across in the single player (Like the Man Darts, and the big jet engine/turbine). We fooled around with that for a few minutes and I let her try out the single player. She has a thing for cutting people into little chunks with the chainsaw. I found this interesting, and strangely cool. She appreciated the comic style art of the game, and the blood. *thumbs up*

Lastly, we played a round of House of the Dead: Overkill before she departed. She said she enjoyed it, but I don’t think she likes rail shooters. She likes moving on her own. *shrugs*

Anyway, that was my day today. Tonight, I plan to finish Resident Evil 5 on Veteran and maybe play some of it with my girlfriend in Co-op. I have unlocked the Gatling Gun now, and maxed out one machine gun and one shot gun. I plan to buy the Hydra tonight after I finish veteran.

Update: I tried out Final Fantasy VII Crisis Core and Final Fantasy Tactics and they are both good. Crisis Core plays like an action RPG, but also turn based in a way. It’s different. I enjoy it. Tactics is essentially just like the Playstation version of the same name, as I had figured it would be.

Leave a Reply

