House Of The Dead: Overkill And Puzzle Quest: Galactrix


I purchased these games within the last few weeks, and it’s about time I gave a bit more of an opinion on both of them. Here it is.

I’m going to start off with Puzzle Quest: Galactrix, since I purchased it first. At first, it seemed to me that it was a decent game, but I fear I may have been a bit premature on this thought.

After playing the game a bit longer, I realized that some of the game types were down right annoying to the point that I was actually a bit angry with the game. The hacking, for example, annoyed me because during the game you are timed and you need to get certain colours in a specific order. If, during this game type, you were to get other colour combos that didn’t matter, you would be stuck waiting for it to disappear before you could do anything else. Now, at this point some of you are likely thinking, “Why would you do that then? Just get the colours required and move on”. Well, sometimes it’s not that simple. When you remove gems from the screen, more will cycle on from the side of the playing area. Sometimes this will cause a chain reaction and colours that don’t matter will start wasting my precious time. I found this annoying and it usually would cause me to fail. The game doesn’t penalize you for losing a match, but it is still rather annoying attempting a puzzle over and over again and wasting my time. The game doesn’t feel like it requires skill, as much as it requires luck. If the game had cost me more than $30, it wouldn’t have really been worth the purchase. As it stands, I am going to say it is beginning to look like a mediocre title.

Now, House of the Dead: Overkill on the other hand is a great game. I have finished the story mode and unlocked the uncut story mode. I haven’t really played much of the uncut mode yet, but it seems to be a bit more difficult. It’s too bad that the weapon upgrades and weapon purchases you make during the other story mode don’t carry over. Oh well.

The game’s dialogue is rather vulgar and the plot is a bit messed up, but that is the point. It’s based around a 70’s zombie horror film. I am pretty sure this is the only game I have ever seen where you can shoot a zombie that is on the can in an outhouse. Excellent, if you like that kind of thing. Reminded me of Planet Terror a bit. If you liked that movie, you’ll like the game’s story.

I enjoyed playing the game through by myself, but it is way more fun to play with someone else. Shooting zombies with a friend can never really get boring. Good game, and I recommend it for any zombie fans.

Anyway, that’s my piece for this morning. I just got home from my night shift. Will likely be playing more Resident Evil 5 later today. I am currently on the first section of Chapter 3. Hopefully I can make to to 4 before I have to go back to work tonight.

Leave a Reply

