On Atari 2600


I recently purchased an Atari 2600, with several games. The controllers and the power cord didn’t work, so I had to improvise with a Sega Genesis controller, and bought a universal power adaptor to solve the issues.

Anyway, this was the first console that I had ever own and played. For me, this is a rekindling of my youth. I was 4 years old when I received it for Christmas, and I played the hell out of it. How many 4 year old kids do you know that have broken a controller due to just playing games (and not throwing them around, etc)?

The games I had for it were plenty, but the game I played most was Sea Quest. I don’t know what it is about this game, but it can keep me occupied for a long time. The game consists of the player moving a yellow submarine around the screen saving divers. There are, of course, fish (guessing sharks) and enemy submarines to worry about as well. You have a limited air supply, so you go down, pick up divers (which you can only carry a limited amount of)  and destroy enemies for points, and return to the surface once in a while for oxygen and/or to drop off your rescued divers (for yet more points). I find this very exciting, even now.

I currently own a small selection of games for my Atari 2600 and Sea Quest is obviously one of them. The other games are: Astroids, Defender, Combat, Donkey Kong, Missile Command, Battle Zone, and Galaxian. I need to find Pac-Man and Ms. Pac-Man to have all of the games I want. The rest I can deal without. Unless someone has any recommendations?

The Atari 2600 proves to me that, even though the games are not cutting edge graphically or large and expansive, the gameplay is there and it’s still fun after 20 years (I am 24). I am biased though. I am sure that gamers younger than I or ones that never played the older games wouldn’t understand what the hell I am talking about. I still recommend giving these games a shot though.

-Matt The Gamer

Leave a Reply

