Cleaning and Rearranging


Tonight I have been slowly packing away stuff from a metal shelving unit, so that I may move this shelving unit close to my second television (just an old smaller crt). The purpose of this shelving unit will be for setting up my older gaming systems on, since I don’t really want to buy a new entertainment center. That and I doubt there’s an entertainment center that even exists that can hold a NES, SNES, N64, Atari 2600, Sega Master System, Sega Saturn, Sega Cenesis/32x/cd, and a Dreamcast. Some of these are recent purchases (Sega Saturn, Sega Genesis/32x/cd, and Atari 2600), and I figured why not set up all of my consoles.

The shelving unit is not the only thing I have been cleaning lately. I have been cleaning up my tables and rearranging wires, and cleaning all of my cartridge format video games. I have cleaned all of my NES, SNES, and N64 games. Sega Master System, and Atari are next.

It is important to me to have a clean gaming area. I don’t know about other people, but dust, tangled wires, and cramped space sucks. Dust sucks because when you touch something, you get dirty and you then transfer that dirt to something else. Cramped space, for me, is only referring to my consoles not having enough room and being on my floor. Things on the floor are things that get stepped on or pushed out of the way and forgotten about. Tangled wires are just never fun, and we all know that.

Once this shelf unit is in place, I will be able to organize everything perfectly. My consoles will be a little more accessible and eye level (or close to it). All I need to do after that is figure out a better seating set up for that television. Hrmmm. I am sure I will talk about that another time.

Anyway, back to cleaning.

-Matt The Gamer

Update #1 (5:08 a.m.) – The shelves are now free of any items that had been on them. All items were dusted and put into boxes, and then into my closet. Later today, dusting will take place, and the shelf unit will be moved.

Update #2 (7:03 a.m.) – After playing some Blazing Lasers, R-Type 3, and Super C, I decided to get back to cleaning and cleaned all of my Atari and Sega Master System games. Woo.

Update #3 (10:00 a.m.) – Shelf unit is now cleaned off and moved. All consoles are arranged and hooked up. Connections tested. Everything is good. Mission complete.

Update #4 (February 7, 2009 @ 6:11pm) Here are the links to a series of images. They are pictures of my current gaming area.
















Update #5 (Feb. 9, 2009 11:48pm) Yes I know there are mounted deer heads in my rec room. They belong to my dad. This was originally my parents’ rec room before I decided to take over. And, yes, I still live at home. HAR!

9 Responses to “Cleaning and Rearranging”

  1. Cool. I’ll have to check it out soon. I still need to see your “new” consoles.

  2. Matt The Gamer Says:

    Yes. “New”. 😛

  3. Matt The Gamer Says:

    I will be posting pictures of my set up very soon.

  4. Matt The Gamer Says:

    Update #4 to this blog is coming today. I will edit in a link to a photo gallery. Within shall be pictures of my current set up.

  5. Chris Hill Says:

    This is amazing. I thought places lke this probably existed, but to see it is impressive. You’ve got like every system, plus like 5 computers. Damn

  6. It looks like the next thing to do will be to clean up that massive mess of cables.

  7. Matt The Gamer Says:

    *shrugs* I really don’t know how I am going to avoid that.

  8. […] year, I posted pictures of my gaming set up. I think it’s time for me to update this a little bit. As you can see, there are some […]

  9. Awesome I could spend days there playing

Leave a Reply

